Parents in business: Evan of Dad Fixes Everything

My name is Evan and I’m 32 years old. I have a 4-year-old daughter with my wife of 7 years. We live in Atlanta, GA (in the United States).

I work full-time as a blogger and Internet marketer, which has afforded me unbelievably flexibility to be the best dad I can possibly be.

I quit my regular full-time job as a writer and journalist in February of 2018 with only a faint idea that I could actually make it out on my own. But the urgency of needing to make it work and the dream of having complete freedom of my time was enough to keep me going.

There’s a ton of work to be done when it comes to my business, but I get to decide what needs done and when it needs to be done by. That’s been huge this year in my daughter’s first year of Pre-K since I’m able to pick her up from school most afternoons and shuttle her around to afterschool activities without worrying about a boss looking over my shoulder.

(I remember that queasy feeling all too well, at my “regular job,” when my daughter would need to stay home sick or go to the doctor and I’d feel super uneasy about taking the time away from the office.)

Running my own online business definitely has challenges, though. I don’t get a lot of day-to-day interaction with friends and coworkers, and when things go wrong (and they definitely go wrong sometimes), there’s no one to deal with it but me!

But the flexibility and extra time with my daughter has been worth it, and I’m hoping one day, within the next two years or so, I can support the whole family with just my salary — giving us even more freedom to live and travel where we want.

Readers can learn more about me and keep up with my work over at https://dadfixeseverything.com

More from Family Friendly Working

Nearly 70% of business will be cashless

Research carried out by 3Gem for Amaiz, the business banking app, has...
Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

 

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.